It's 2017 which means a myriad of things now-a-days. One of those things means people are becoming incredibly food/health conscious. If you're a vegetarian or vegan it means looking at food and product labels to make sure what you're consuming fits into those guidelines.
I personally don't eat beef, which means gelatin is a no-no for me. Gelatin tends to be ground up pork and beef bones and it's used in a variety of things from Jello, vitamins, sea-sickness medications, marshmallows, and more.
You'd be surprised at how many household items contain Gelatin. Here are just a few:
-Starbursts, Gummy Worms,
Starbursts in the United Kingdom are vegan, but they are not in the United States. If you turn the packaging over and look at the ingredients, you'll see gelatin listed.
Alternative: Gusher's and Sour Patch Kids
2. Sea-Sickness Medication
-Dramamine natural capsules are not vegan either. The all natural package that comes with ginger also has gelatin.
-Flintstone Vitamins also has gelatin listed in the ingredients.
-Hair, Skin, and Nail Vitamins tend to also have gelatin.
-Rice Krispies, marshmallows, Peanuts (some products) Poptarts, and Jello all contain gelatin.
Alternatives: Vegan marshmallows are going to be your friend in baking, hot chocolate, and for s'mores.
-Frosted cereals in general contain gelatin, including Mini-Wheats.
6. Beer and Wine
-Certain beers and wine have gelatin in them. It's safest to get organic, vegan wine and beer by asking your grocery store for a list that will tell you which products are safe.
If you have any other items you know that have gelatin, please feel free to share!